2018 Arthritis Foundation Medical Honoree

Arthritis Foundation Medical Honroree

Dr. Jackson Receives 2018 Arthritis Foundation Medical Honoree Award

St. Louis, MissouriDr. Robert Jackson, D.O., F.A.C.O.I., a Rheumatologist from Kirksville, Missouri received the prestigious 2018 Medical Honoree Award from the Arthritis Foundation of Missouri. The event was held at the Ritz Carlton in St. Louis with more than 500 business leaders and elite members of the Missouri Arthritis community in attendance.

This coveted award is presented annually to a member of the medical community who has dedicated his or her career to improving patient outcomes and reducing the suffering of those afflicted with arthritis.

Dr. Jackson is also the President and Founder of Premier Specialty Network (PSN). His organization provides medical specialists to rural community and critical access hospitals where specialty care might not otherwise be available.

PSN offers outreach specialists to hospitals in numerous states including Missouri, Iowa, Illinois, Kansas, Arkansas, Nebraska, Wyoming, and Kentucky.

Providing a need

Due to the shortage of Rheumatologists in rural areas, Dr. Jackson also trains Nurse Practitioners in Rheumatology and makes them available to numerous area hospitals through PSN.

APRNs Shayla Sanders, Ashley Harmon, and Elizabeth Allen all provide Rheumatology specialty services in collaboration with Dr. Jackson and PSN network providers.

Area hospitals where PSN trained Nurse Practitioners see patients include: Samaritan Hospital in Macon, MO; Pershing Memorial Hospital in Brookfield, MO; Wayne County Hospital in Corydon, IA; Davis County Hospital in Bloomfield, IA; Mercy Medical Center in Centerville, IA; Monroe County Hospital in Albia, IA; and Van Buren County Hospital in Keosauqua, IA.

Future additional sites in Iowa include Pella Regional Medical Center (Pella and Ottumwa), Mahaska Health Partners and Keokuk County Health Center.

Serving in Missouri

Dr. Jackson currently sees patients in Hannibal, Macon, Milan and Memphis, Missouri as well as Bloomfield, Fairfield, Ottumwa, and Pella, Iowa.

Dr. Jackson previously served as the Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Chairman and Associate Professor of Internal Medicine at A.T. Still University, formerly known as the Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine.

WKTO TV recently visited Dr. Jackson on site in Macon to conduct an interview about his award.

Like this article?


More Articles